Enable-CsTopology : Error accessing folder \\sfbshare

I have made some changes to my Skype for Business topology and I finished that as usual with the cmdlet “Enable-CsTopology”.

However, I got like 51 errors all stating :

Enable-CsTopology : Error accessing folder
\\sfb-fe.contoso.com\sfbshare\1-ApplicationServer-1\AppServerFiles\CPS.
At line:1 char:1
+ Enable-CsTopology
+~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : Invalid Data: (:SourceCollection) [Enable-CsTopology], DeploymentException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : InvalidFolder,Microsoft.Rtc.Management.Deployment.ActivateTopologyCmdlet
Enable-CsTopology : Error accessing folder \\sfb-fe.contoso.com\sfbshare\1-ApplicationServer-1\AppServerFiles\Rgs.
At line:1 char:1
+ Enable-CsTopology
+~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : Invalid Data: (:SourceCollection) [Enable-CsTopology], DeploymentException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : InvalidFolder,Microsoft.Rtc.Management.Deployment.ActivateTopologyCmdlet
Enable-CsTopology : Error accessing folder \\sfb-fe.contoso.com\sfbshare\1-ApplicationServer-1\AppServerFiles\WinFabTraceFiles.
At line:1 char:1

lync

The errors clearly mention an access to lyncshare folder error. I tried to actually enter the share folder through its FQDN, and I browsed in Windows Explorer \\sfb-fe.contoso.com\sfbshare and SURPRISE!! I was denied.

I browsed again the Lyncshare but this time through its IP address \\@IP-ADDRESS\sfbshare and it works! So, I understood that it was a DNS related issue.

I opened a cmd shell and did a simple ping sfb-fe.contoso.com and I got an IPv6 response!

I disabled IPv6 on the network card like that :ipv6

and did an ipconfig /flushdns on cmd.

After these two actions, I was able to browse the SFB Share through its FQDN and finally the share folder is accessible and the Enable-CsTopology worked successfully.

It’s really surprising because the SFB was up and running in production. I don’t want caused the Enable-CsTopology where no recent changes happened.

Leave a Reply

